For the latest information on COVID-19 (Coronavirus) please visit the NSW Health website.

BHI Board

The BHI Board is led by Board Chair, Professor Carol Pollock AO.


photo of Professor Carol Pollock AO

Professor Carol Pollock AO

Professor Carol Pollock AO has an international reputation and has published over 280 papers in clinical medicine and basic science. She is a renal medicine specialist with extensive experience as a clinician, researcher, lecturer, mentor and advocate.

Professor Pollock is an inaugural Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (2015), was conferred a Vice Chancellors Award for Excellence in Research Supervision (2012), recognised as a ‘Distinguished Professor’ by the University of Sydney (2012) and received the Ministerial Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Research (2014).

Her health leadership roles have included inaugural Chair of the NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation, Chair of the Clinical Excellence Commission, inaugural Chair of the Northern Sydney Local Health District Board and Director of Kidney Health Australia since 2014.

Professor Pollock chairs the NSW Cardiovascular Research Network and chairs the International Society of Nephrology Meetings Committee, responsible for delivering research and educational meetings and policy forums across the globe. She was the Scientific Chairman of the World Congress of Nephrology in Hong Kong in 2013.


Board members

No Image

Professor Adam Elshaug

Professor Adam Elshaug is Director of the Centre for Health Policy with joint Chair appointments in the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, and Melbourne Medical School.

From 2013 to 2020, Professor Elshaug was based at the University of Sydney, becoming Co-Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy in 2016. He is a researcher and policy advisor, specialising in optimising safety and value in healthcare through measuring and reducing waste, such as low-value care, for which he has developed novel, award-winning methods using administrative health data. He works closely with national and state governments and third-party payers including on the design and evaluation of alternative models of care and payment.

Professor Elshaug sits on numerous national and international committees, including as a Ministerial appointee to the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce and its Principles and Rules Sub-Committee, and on the Expert Advisory Committee for Evidence-based Interventions (UK). Since 2014 he has been economic and policy advisor to Cancer Australia.

Professor Elshaug was a 2010–11 Commonwealth Fund Harkness Fellow based at the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. He then served for two years as a National Health and Medical Research Council Sidney Sax Fellow in Harvard Medical School’s Department of Health Care Policy. For 2019–20 he was a Visiting Fellow in the USC-Brookings Schaeffer Initiative for Health Policy at The Brookings Institution in Washington DC. Professor Elshaug has published around 170 technical reports and peer-reviewed articles in journals including The Lancet (co-lead of the 2017 Right Care series), NEJM, BMJ, JAMA and MJA, among others.


photo of Mr Ian Gillespie

Mr Ian Gillespie

Mr Ian Gillespie has an extensive background in the public and private sectors, holding senior executive positions covering finance, administration, strategy and general management.

His previous appointments including senior Finance Director positions at the Department of Education and Communities; General Manager, Finance at the NSW TAFE Commission; Director, Finance and Administration and also Director, Strategic Planning at the Ministry of Education and Youth Affairs; and Chief Accountant at the NSW Department of Motor Transport.

Mr Gillespie has undertaken independent consultancies covering service outcomes, risk management, policy setting, financial management and corporate restructuring. He has been appointed to various government committees where service enhancement, strategic risk management, probity issues and compliance with government regulatory requirements were paramount. He is currently appointed to several government committees addressing audit and risk management.

Mr Gillespie is a Fellow with CPA Australia; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management; and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


photo of Diane Watson

Dr Diane WatsonChief Executive

Dr Diane Watson is the Chief Executive of the Bureau of Health Information (BHI) in NSW. She has led the establishment of three reporting agencies in Australia that use big data to drive decisions on healthcare provision nationally and locally.

Prior to joining BHI, Dr Watson was the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Agency for Health Information, established in 2016 to monitor and report on public and private services that stimulate quality and safety improvements, increase transparency and accountability, and inform the community. She was also the inaugural Chief Executive of the National Health Performance Authority, established by the Australian Government to monitor, and report on, the performance of 1000+ public and private hospitals and 300+ health regions.

Dr Watson was the inaugural Chief Executive of BHI from 2009 to 2012. She has held senior management positions for more than 25 years measuring, monitoring and reporting on the performance of healthcare systems to drive improvements in health, patient care and productivity. During this time, she has set the future direction of high profile, board-governed agencies and inspired a strong sense of purpose among a highly talented and specialised workforce.


Page updated: 23 Nov 2021